RSS

Skyfall (No Spoilers; I Promise)

11 Nov

Do you know what I’ve discovered?   Some of my fellow citizens (way too many) almost lost their freakin’ minds over the recent presidential election.  (I never thought I’d live to see the day that a black man could have so much power he’d be considered both the Anti-Christ as well as the leader of the most powerful nation in the world—twice over).  Both sides (liberal and conservative) were guilty of being obnoxious in their over-the-top verbiage surrounding said black man’s re-election, but some (not all, thank God) of the extreme right wing arm of the conservative party seemed to win the prize for out-and-out nastiness and racism.

The Internet was aflame with accusations from the Right that people who voted for President Obama were “pimps, whores, and welfare brats” (thanks, has-been rocker, Ted Nugent), some threatened to secede from the nation while guaranteeing that the rest of us were going to Hell on slip-and-slides ordered up by “freeloading ni@%ers, sluts, and fa%@ots” (thanks crazy-ass Texas), and one Christian ex-SNL comedienne tweeted:  “I can’t stop crying. America died . . . Thanks a lot Christians for not showing up. You disgust me” (Birther, pro-life advocate Victoria Jackson).  Yikes!

And that was the “mild vitriol.”  There were companies who fired employees for voting for President Obama, southern college campuses that burned our President’s body in effigy as they hurled racial epithets, and misguided souls who took to Facebook to call for President Obama’s assassination, convinced that our country will implode under his leadership.  I’ve got to confess that as an African-American, Independent, Born-Again Christian, pro-choice and pro-life (yeah you read that correctly; there are more of us than people realize), intelligent female, tax-paying citizen, I seriously thought about becoming an ex-pat in Canada because this racist shit had gotten so bad, but my husband (who is white) refused to move.

After kicking a particular snarky hater off my Facebook page into FB-Blocker Hell (really Biotch, I don’t even remember who you are—wouldn’t recognize you if I passed you on the street—and you try and hate on me on my own FB page—seriously?), my husband (WW) said he wouldn’t move to Canada but he wouldn’t mind wallowing in a little escapism for a day to wipe away all the political vomit out of his psyche.  I chose a marathon viewing (second time around) of the first two seasons of Downton Abbey, but WW said:  “Shoot me now!  If I have to sit through that damn chick’s flick soap opera again I’ll definitely move to Canada—but without you!  Take me to see the opening of the new James Bond movie, Skyfall, if you want to save our marriage.

Produced by Eon Productions and distributed by MGM and Sony Pictures Entertainment

I started to protest but then WW reminded me that I made him sit through last week’s episode of Glee does Grease the Second Time with me in which he broke out in hives at the end of the show and needed three gin and tonics to get over his mind-numbing boredom.  So at 8 a.m. on Sunday morning (having had no breakfast because my husband thought we wouldn’t get a seat), armed with a huge bag of popcorn and no liquids (the movie is 2 ½ hours and I have the bladder the size of a pea), WW and I settled into the middle section of a packed IMAX theater and were immediately transported.

Even I will admit it—it’s  the best Bond movie ever!  The action is non-stop, the story doesn’t have any holes in it, and up until Sam Mendes’ Skyfall (wait until you find out the meaning of the title) I always thought Sean Connery was my favorite Bond.  Move over Sean because Daniel Craig has stolen my heart!  Up until Skyfall, I thought Dr. Julius No was my favorite villain, but Javier Bardem as Raoul Silva makes Hannibal Lector look like child’s play—you will pee your pants (I certainly would have if I had had any liquids in me)!

Javier Bardem as Raoul Silva in Skyfall|Produced by Eon Productions and distributed by MGM and Sony Pictures Entertainment

Dame Judi Dench as “M” is the character I would have most liked to play if they had asked me (well, actually I would have liked to have been a Bond girl but, hey, reality is a bitch!), and she is AWESOME!  I agree with the critic, Donald Shanahan from the Chicago Examiner, that “the last five minutes of the movie is the best five minutes of any movie you’ll see this year,” and I love the life lessons he cites in his review, although our conclusions about those lessons are slightly different:

LESSON #1A moving target is hardest to hit (I for one don’t plan to slow down enough for the haters in life to hit me with their slime—what doesn’t stick to me can’t hurt me.)

LESSON #2:  Losing a step (None of us has the entire picture of who God is or what he is about, so all of us miss a step or two trying to make our way through life, and the older we get the more we realize that we don’t know as much as we thought we did.)

LESSON #3Think on your sins (Let he who is without sin cast the first stone.)

http://www.examiner.com/review/movie-review-skyfall-cements-the-brilliant-new-direction-of-james-bond

Dame Judi Dench as “M” | Produced by Eon Productions and distributed by MGM and Sony Pictures Entertainment

And then there is the theme song co-written by Adele.  That baby tears this song up!  It’s new, it has flavors of earlier Bond themes, and it grabs your heart.  Ms. Adele will definitely win a Grammy for this.

Let the sky fall

When it crumbles

We will stand tall

Face it all together

Oh yeah . . . all in all, WW and I agreed that this movie experience was better than church!  We felt re-born and revitalized!  We returned home free of all the political nastiness, partisan crappiness, and religious self-righteousness that had washed over us during the election cycle.   We shook off all the Ted Nugent quips, Victoria Jackson hissy-fits, and Internet trolling racist barbs of the world, and we are going to treat others like we want to be treated and keep on rollin’.   (We also stopped reading any comments from trolling haters.)  I, for one, think the next four years are going to be fabulous!  How about you?

Theme song banner|image from bestmoviesevernews.com

I am discovering that I actually learned a great deal from Skyfall and I’m glad I saw it.  We (Americans) have an enemy but it is not each other, unless we chose to make it so.   We really are on the same team.  Our common enemy is hatred of our way of life that strikes at us through the form of terrorism that owes allegiance to no country and no people group other than its own raw ambition and meanness.   To paraphrase President Obama, we are not Red States or Blue States, religious or non-religious, Black or white, rich or poor, gay or straight—we are citizens of these United States.  We all see in bits and pieces; we all have portions of truth; and we all could be wrong about so much that we are willing to kill each other over today.   We need each other if we’re going to make this democracy work.  What say we wash the bile out of our mouths, find the things we can agree on, and let’s get to work, because yesterday it was 9-11 and al-qaeda, the next day it was Katrina and oil destroying the Gulf, today it is a hurricane ravaging NYC and New Jersey, tomorrow it may be you and your town being decimated.  We will all need each other, at one time or another, and in our hour of need, we won’t give a damn about our differences just so long as we are lending a hand to help each other survive.

Image from wheelingsoup.org

“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

 “The Destiny of Man is to unite, not to divide. If you keep on dividing you end up as a collection of monkeys throwing nuts at each other out of separate trees.”― T. H. White, The Once and Future King

“Pit race against race, religion against religion, and prejudice against prejudice. Divide and conquer! We must not let that happen here.”― Eleanor Roosevelt

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Eleanor Tomczyk and “How the Hell Did I End Up Here?” with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 
37 Comments

Posted by on November 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

37 responses to “Skyfall (No Spoilers; I Promise)

  1. becomingcliche

    November 11, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    I dumped FB before the election, and I am so glad that I did. I am hopeful for the next 4 years. The other candidate terrified me, and I’m glad the results were in Obama’s favor.

    I don’t know if I had even heard of Skyfall until a couple of days ago. I’ve never seen a Bond film that I actually liked, but I wonder about this one…

     
    • etomczyk

      November 12, 2012 at 11:56 am

      BC: Getting off FB before the election was probably very wise.

      If WW hadn’t insisted on seeing Skyfall, I would never have gone out of my way, but it was really outstanding. I think you will enjoy it. It is shear fantasy with a message. Take care.

       
      • becomingcliche

        November 12, 2012 at 12:01 pm

        Maybe I would win some brownie points by taking my husband to see it.

         
      • etomczyk

        November 12, 2012 at 12:07 pm

        Definitely! I sure did. 🙂

         
  2. composerinthegarden

    November 11, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    Another wise and wonderful post, Eleanor. Now “Skyfall” is at the top of my movie must see list 🙂

     
    • etomczyk

      November 12, 2012 at 12:09 pm

      Thanks Lynn. I’ve been listening to Adele’s Skyfall all morning. Outstanding! I think you’ll really enjoy the movie. It’s fun to see how they plan to keep the franchise alive.

       
  3. eurobrat

    November 11, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    Thank you for this little bit of sanity, Eleanor. I have to admit that that screaming little girl vs. donkey picture is what my life has descended into in the past few days–and yes, especially on Facebook. And trying to argue with people who think that Obama is Hitler…well, it makes me about as smart as the little kid in the pic.

    I still remain worried about our President’s physical safety, however, and will continue to pray for him.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 12, 2012 at 12:33 pm

      Eurobrat. I am with you about the concern for President Obama’s safety. A day doesn’t go by when I don’t pray for his protection. I’ve seen that hatred up close and personal and I know there are people who would do anything to harm him because this is all they have left in their arsonal (no pun intended). They tried dirty money (100B), dirty politics (Birtherism), lies, and voter suppression. No wonder the Republican party is in a state of shock. They thought that they had might and power on their side. But the Democrats had truth and spirit–eventually that wins every time. Thanks for stopping by.

       
  4. notquiteold

    November 11, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Oh yeah, I am amazed at the Christian attitudes of the Christian right. That’s JUST what Jesus would do…

     
    • etomczyk

      November 12, 2012 at 12:52 pm

      I know, Nancy. This has not been Christianity’s finiest hour! Fortunately, not all Christians are like the bigoted, right-wing, haters on the bullhorns. In fact, a story that has slid under the radar of the pundits is that this election was a sucker punch to right-wing Christianity because what Jesus would do is not what they were saying he would do. I posted a note on my FB page over a great congratulatory drawing of President Obama that said: “Yes Virginia, there is a God! He just doesn’t hate who you hate!” There are plenty of Christians who think like I do. Maybe know our voices will be heard, now that the loud mouths have been silenced. Thanks for stopping by. All the best.

       
  5. Lindy Lee

    November 11, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    Call me prejudiced but Sean Connery is the only James Bond for me. As for Facebook, got off when the gettin’ was good before the vitriol buried me…

     
    • Sondra Smith

      November 12, 2012 at 10:05 am

      You are the voice of reason in the midst of insanity. The hatred and fighting that happened during this election was heartbreaking. I lost friends, was called names, and felt like I was in a war. We have to come to terms with the color of our nation. It is no longer white and has not been for a long time. I hope and pray that this is the beginning of an age of acceptance. Excellent piece!

       
      • etomczyk

        November 12, 2012 at 12:57 pm

        Thanks Sondra. I am stunned by some of the things people have written on FB that I thought were smart and without bigotry. I’m now beginning to wonder if I ever knew them. Below is something Dennis Miller said that I thought was pretty profound (isn’t he a Repub?):

        DENNIS MILLER– “The America I used to know is gone” sort of anguish. Well grow up. All of you. At least all of you beating your breasts that America is no longer America. It sure as hell is and what truest about it it how it changes over time. White + rich no longer equals the loudest say over who’s in the White House. So what? Isn’t it enough to live better, eat better, travel better and worry less than everyone else? Nope, it ain’t never better, is it? You want it all, every last damn bit of it and if you could bleach our skins and change our accents you’d probably do that too, wouldn’t you? Racist, xenophobic, classist, you name it. I’ve had it and even post-election I’m not feeling kind towards my brethren because they’re not kind towards me, or my dreams, or family, or friends.

        I’m incredibly thankful the wax figure Romney didn’t ascend to the White House. Instant war, inequitable distribution of wealth, the continued marginalizing of the less better off. I have no idea what comes next with Obama, who I have now voted for twice, but rational + reasonable seem to be two words that come to mind. I might not like how that translates in every case, but I can live with it. Proudly.

         
    • etomczyk

      November 12, 2012 at 12:55 pm

      Lindy Lee. I was with you on the Sean Connery vote until Skyfall. I’m telling you, girlfriend, you’ve got to give Daniel Craig a try. I’m still fanning my face :)! You’re so right about FB. Not a good place to hang out. Cheers!

       
      • Lindy Lee

        November 12, 2012 at 6:09 pm

        Nothing against Daniel Craig; did you see him in The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo? The Stieg Larsson trilogy was almost more than I could take but could not stop reading once I started. Daniel Craig was perfect for the part he played in the movie…

         
      • etomczyk

        November 12, 2012 at 8:01 pm

        I read the first book about the Dragon Tattoo but refused to see the movie because I couldn’t take the brutality. Couldn’t finish the 2nd and 3rd book either. But I’m liking what he’s done in Skyfall. His first James Bond movie was just awful. Glad he has redeemed himself.

         
  6. Valentine Logar

    November 12, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    Your husband is the bomb! Mine won’t even sit through Dreamgirls or Rent (he just got written up for his bad behavior yesterday).

    I love all James Bond films but must always wait for them to come on cable as I am unable to sit still long enough to watch them in theaters. Thank you though for the lessons learned, they are excellent and telling.

    Like you, I dropped many a follower and ‘friend’ during the campaign and directly after our Presidents win. Had many a discussion that turned hot even with family members. Found myself staring dumbfounded at the screen at the vitriol and pure ugly coming from people who called themselves Christian, what really? Since when does racism, hate and greed align with the teachings of Christ? I have read the book and simply can’t find those attributes anywhere.

    As always you bring it home my friend.

    Val

     
    • etomczyk

      November 12, 2012 at 3:26 pm

      Val. I actually got WW to see Dreamgirls the show, Dreamgirls the movie, and we’ve got tickets to see Dreamgirls in January at a local theater (can you tell that I love Dreamgirls?). He still hates Rent! (And you don’t want to know what he thinks about me dragging him to see Mama Mia, the stage show and Mama Mia, the movie–it is not printable!)

      I know, I am really, really P.O’d at “the Church” these days. Fortunately, not all Christians think that way, they just can’t be heard over the Fox News, Glenn Beck, Rush Limbaugh empowered right wing religion that is masgurading as Christianity and “God says.” My hope is that this colossal electoral drumming will wake up those who are ignoring (or participating) in the bigotry, the hatred, the greed, and the selfishness that has nothing to do with the love of Christ. Thanks so much for stopping by and for such a stimulating comment.

       
  7. Hudson Howl

    November 12, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    Here in Canada we were spared the nasty shtufffs of pre-election gobbly gook, one of the perks for living north of the imaginary line that separates us. Now lets hope everyone ‘plays nice’ and gets on with the job at hand.

    To steal a word visual from your last post and playing with it – ‘Mother(me)’ don’t (s)mother “We will all need each other, at one time or another, and in our hour of need, we won’t give a damn about our differences just so long as we are lending a hand to help each other survive”. ‘E’ that is a message not just for America but for a world way of feeling.

    I guess am off this weekend to see SKYFALL. I don’t think I’ve seen a Bond movie from beginning to end. I know, I know am boring as all get out.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 13, 2012 at 5:47 pm

      Hi Hudson! Somehow the rhetoric is still too hot for folks to get along–especially on the conservative side. There have been 30 petitions to secede from the union. Where do these people think they are going to do with themselves? Americans are nuts! That’s why Skyfall was such great escapism.

      I truly appreciate your underscoring what touched you from my last post. Your comments are always so touching and make me feel that maybe I’m not wasting my time. All the best, my friend.

       
      • Hudson Howl

        November 19, 2012 at 9:18 pm

        Sunday afternoon was SKYFALL. For a tidy sum of $23.95 for two tickets purchased online on Saturday (IMAX would have cost $37.95 -not a fan of IMAX if over 30 minutes). Tack on $27.00 for two regular soft drinks, one small popcorn and one regular popcorn. For a grand total when rounded off, $65.00 (not included was 20 bucks for gas as I drove 30 miles for the big screen and cushy seating). T’waz money well spent. The only Bond movie I have ever watched from start to finish. With threads of the theme tied and knotted around M and not just for love of country, there was plenty of moral messages weaved through out I thought. I liked how they played with the ambiguity of skyfall -not just the end but the beginning as well. The return to SKYFALL (a slight hint of Johnny Cash ‘The Last Gunfighter’ -burn of a bullet is only a scar played in my mind a couple times in the movie) at the end was clever, I looked for Bats in the darkness, you knew good would over come, that power of the bonds which unite would over come.

         
      • etomczyk

        November 21, 2012 at 12:13 pm

        Hudson, I’m so glad you liked Skyfall. Wow, you really saw a lot that I missed. “The Last Gunfighter” reference is awesome. Did you notice, also, that in the end it was the “old” that conquered the “new” (a knife brought down the bad guy, not one of Q’s gadgets). And even though a new generation was taking over (Ms. Moneypenny and Q), they still needed the expertise of the “seasoned” warrior. Good times!

         
      • Hudson Howl

        November 21, 2012 at 12:29 pm

        I did notice. Good times indeed. And someday, I want a place that has a name to it rather than a number, SKYFALL was Bonds; mine will be called Hudson Howl.

         
  8. aFrankAngle

    November 14, 2012 at 8:21 am

    As always, a writing about reality with sensible passion!

    Dang – Skyfall was very entertaining! … and love your link between it and election-related behaviors.

    Interestingly, not only did I “unfriend” a friend for 40 years, but I also know 3 others (all long timers) who did the same. He and I were talking on the phone, and as he was able to make a stupid statement that was unrelated, I stopped him with “Don’t go there”. He kept going, so I repeated, “Don’t go there.” He kept going, so I hung up – and we haven’t spoken since. Now that is a segment. In reality, I’ve tolerate his racism for years, but he has gotten worse the last 4 years.

    BTW – St. Petersburg cruise pics gets two days – yesterday and tomorrow (tonight).

     
    • etomczyk

      November 15, 2012 at 6:35 pm

      Frank, didn’t you just love Skyfall!

      Just got back from reviewing your St. Petersurg cruise pics: they are breathtaking. You’re an excellent photographer.

      I am living the story of you and your “unfriend” on several accounts. They are all dyed-in-the-wool born-again-Christians who have lost their freakin’ minds. And there is nothing worse than the self-righteous applauding their “righteousness” and not being able to see that it is cloaked in racism. They assume because they have one black friend (moi) that they should be good to go and I won’t mind their racist remarks because after all, they “can’t possibly be racist because I’m their friend!” Like you, I put up with this stuff for way too long. Sometimes I think I’m nicer than Jesus when it comes to turning the other cheek, but I think I’ve reached my limit and I am turning in my “good for one black friend card.” It is all so sad. Take care.

       
  9. talesfromthemotherland

    November 14, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Javier Bardem is unbelievable (though he generally is) and Daniel Craig has made me swoon for a long time. When they tortured him, naked and tied to a chair, in Quantum of Solace, I could only think: again, again!

    All of the rampant racism that has been highlighted in this election, is deeply troubling. Really icky. I am ashamed to be lumped with whites, when there are those miscreants out there! It’s hard to really imagine how it all must feel, for Black Americans. Disgusting all around.

    Finally, if you love Downton Abbey, as do I, rent Albert Nobbs with Glenn Close. Smart Guy thought it was slow, but so like DA and such a smart, interesting film.

    Nice post.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 15, 2012 at 6:50 pm

      Hi Dawn. Wasn’t Skyfall fantastic! I didn’t like Quantum of Solace at all. I almost gave up on the James Bond francise. I thought it was logubrious (sp) and draining. But Skyfall corrected all of Quantum’s faults.

      I am going to take you up on Albert Nobbs. Never heard of it. But if it is like DA, I am there! Take care and thanks for your very insightful comments.

       
      • talesfromthemotherland

        November 15, 2012 at 10:41 pm

        Glen Close was nominated for an Oscar for her role in Albert Nobbs. I think you’ll like it!

         
  10. Elyse

    November 14, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    You know, my comment above looks like I only read part of your post. But I read it all! I’m just not a Bond girl …

     
    • etomczyk

      November 15, 2012 at 6:52 pm

      No worries, Elyse. I am surprised so many people actually do like James Bond movies. I think it is my compromise to WW for all of the Mama Mia, Dreamgirls, and Shirley Valentine musicals and plays I drag him to. Take care.

       
  11. imagesbytdashfield

    November 19, 2012 at 7:34 am

    That SNL chick has issues that even a good dosing of anti-psychotropic meds cannot help! Her brain and any damn sense left the building with Elvis a long time ago! It’s done, get over, move on, try to make the moving on beneficial for all – not just the kiddies playing in your sandbox.

    We saw Skyfall yesterday and I loved it, DH felt it was all about M and not enough of Bond girlness. Bardem was one creepy azz villain though. Freud would’ve had a field day with him.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 19, 2012 at 3:38 pm

      TD: I’ve often thought that Victoria Jackson was on something. She’s just not normal.

      Wasn’t Skyfall fantastic! I loved the fact that M got to take center stage. Tell DH that M was the Bond girl. That’s the point. She was the consummate Bond girl in the sense that she was “mother” to the yen and the yang of Bond and Bardem, with all the love/hate tango that goes on between mother and child (I need a life, right!) 🙂 Thanks for reading my stuff, as always. You’re always so much fun to chat with.

       
      • imagesbytdashfield

        November 19, 2012 at 3:59 pm

        Had not thought of it that way. Good interpretation! I will tell DH and see what he has to say 😉

         
  12. The Savvy Senorita

    November 20, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Hey,
    Yet again another GREAT post!!!!!! Can I say, YEH, you are a fellow Downtown Abbey fan!!! My man hates it too, so I make him go sit in the other room and sulk alone! I watched Skyfall recently too, and had high hopes, yet, it was just OK for me. I’ll admit I am not a bond fan though! Oh, and happy Thanksgiving Day for Thursday!! Wishing you and your family all the best.
    Bex 🙂

     
    • etomczyk

      November 21, 2012 at 1:59 pm

      Hi Bex. Thanks so much for your complimentary note. I really appreciate it. I was never a Bond fan until I met my husband. It is my compromise for all the “chick’s flicks” I make him see–Downton Abbey being one of them. Happy T-Day to you as well. Will you be celebrating it in Spain?

       
      • The Savvy Senorita

        November 21, 2012 at 4:13 pm

        Hey no problem, thanks for your response. Ah, yes you are right that is only fair as compromise is always best.
        Thank you, but no unfortunately the British don’t celebrate it; we save our Turkey for Christmas Day. As far as I know here in Spain they don’t celebrate either 😦
        I wish I did though. I was staying with a family in the US one year over Thanksgiving, and it was fantastic, I loved it.

         

Leave a Reply

 
