RSS

Taking a Short Break Because My Head Is About to Explode

18 Jan

Do you know what I’ve discovered?  My nerves are shot, and I’m about to turn into one “angry black woman”!  It’s only the third week in January, and I don’t know how I’m going to make it through to the end of February, let alone the rest of the year.  I entered 2012 with a sinus infection so debilitating that it almost had me singing with Jesus before my allotted time on Earth was up.  Then some perverted excuse of a Republican Congressman said the FLOTUS had a fat ass (“Oh no, he didn’t!”) . . .

Republican lawmaker Jim Sensenbrenner (Google Image)

The lawmaker appears to have made two separate comments about the first lady’s derriere, both connected with his appearance at a church’s Christmas bazaar in Hartford, Wis.  Roland Martin Reports

. . .and a stadium full of South Carolinians at the Republican debate (home of the Bible Belt) turned into a cat-calling, standing ovation, KKK rally when minorities and the poor in general were maligned by Newt “for truly I am God” Gingrich as he adamantly refused to apologize for his insensitivity at best and his downright racism at worst.  But just as I was trying to squeeze the sadness out of my heart that there are too many people in my beloved country who would love to see me back in the maid’s uniform of my mother having graduated first in my class from Newt’s “Janitorial Prep School,” when someone sent me a YouTube clip I had missed of the Grand Poobah’s 2012 predictions.

Pat Robertson (The Grand Poobah)/Google Image

“Your country will be torn apart by internal stress. A house divided cannot stand. Your president holds a radical view of the direction of your country which is at odds with the majority. Expect chaos and paralysis….” Pat Robertson

Oh, crap!  Not the apocalypse on top of everything else!  I was so flummoxed that I sent my husband (WW) a frantic text message:

“Babe, come home. Robertson declaring murder, mayhem, & chaos for 2012!  UR 60th birthday is next week.  Should we continue 2 celebrate life or should we run 2 the hills?  Should we start stockpiling guns and food while we wait for the Rapture?  Oy—who knew I’d live 2 see the day a black man could be so powerful that he’d be both the President of the United States and the Anti-Christ?  HELP!”

Text from WW:  “No worries, Cutie.  The Poobah doesn’t own our joy—we do!   I choose 2 celebrate life and enjoy it to the fullest come what may.  Let’s go get a joy transfusion for my birthday.”

Before slipping away for our rendezvous with joy, WW and I went to the movies.  Queen Latifah and Dolly Parton’s Joyful Noise was just what the doctor ordered.  Most music has a way of soothing the soul, but there ain’t nothin’ like gospel music to start the feet a tappin’, hands a clappin’, and voices a beltin’ out the tunes that make the heart become merry and cause one to forget his or her troubles.  (Don’t believe the bad reviews—of course, Joyful Noise is hokey and the story implausible—but the music outshines the storyline and lifts the spirit, and it doesn’t matter if you’re Christian, non-Christian, religious, non-religious, or an alien from outer space, you’ll be dancing a jig through the mall back to your car smiling at everyone you meet.)

So WW and I are blowin’ this Popsicle stand for a quiet infusion of joy.  We’ll be back next week—same time, same place with a full report of the good times had by all.  If you should bump into this week’s crazies, give them a message for me:

“Fuhget you, Gingrich and Sensenbrenner, and fuhget you too Robertson.”

Joyful Noise Movie Trailer/Google Image

“I’ll sue any publicist that uses this as a money quote, but the fan in me felt a giddy, guilty pleasure watching Joyful Noise.  Please, don’t let this get around!”  Richard Corliss/Time Entertainment

Author

In 1988 Pat Robertson said God told him that he would be president.  He didn’t even become the Republican nominee.

In late 1976, Robertson predicted that the end of the world was coming in October or November 1982. In a May 1980 broadcast of The 700 Club he stated, “I guarantee you by the end of 1982 there is going to be a judgment on the world.” Wikipedia

In 1405 BC God said: “You may be wondering among yourselves, ‘How can we tell the difference, whether it was God who spoke or not?’ Here’s how: If what the prophet spoke in God’s name doesn’t happen, then obviously God wasn’t behind it; the prophet made it up. Forget about him.” Deuteronomy 18:22—The Message Bible

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Eleanor Tomczyk and “How the Hell Did I End Up Here?” with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 
26 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

26 responses to “Taking a Short Break Because My Head Is About to Explode

  1. becomingcliche

    January 18, 2012 at 8:46 am

    Sounds just like a congressman to be noticing a beautiful woman’s hind parts.

     
    • etomczyk

      January 18, 2012 at 9:08 am

      Isn’t that nuts, BC? The rudeness is not only offensive to the FLOTUS but to all women. All women everywhere should take to the streets in protest.

       
  2. imagesbytdashfield

    January 18, 2012 at 9:20 am

    Because it is a woman of color they think they are back in plantation times and can comment on her in such a way? And has he looked at his ass lately? I left Robertson at the asylum a long time ago, tsk tsk. Trifling bunch the lot of them.

     
    • etomczyk

      January 18, 2012 at 11:24 am

      Hi T! I think that is exactly the spirit behind the remark. Can you imagine him having made that remark about Laura Bush who I think is a lovely woman and would no more deserve a comment like the congressman made than Michelle Obama did. Thanks so much for stopping by. I’ll drop by your place once I get my joy tap on. 🙂

       
  3. Sondra

    January 18, 2012 at 9:41 am

    I just want to go to the mountain top and scream….wake up you fools!

    Have a wonderful time celebrating WW’s birthday! Relax, enjoy and recharge…

     
    • etomczyk

      January 18, 2012 at 11:25 am

      Sondra: Ain’t it the truth, my friend. . .

       
  4. Lindy Lee

    January 18, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    Right on, etomczyk, you have made my day in such a splendid way…

     
    • etomczyk

      January 18, 2012 at 4:52 pm

      Hi Lindy Lee. I am pleased to have made your day. You made my day by reading my blog today. Thank you so much. Cheers!

       
  5. An Observant Mind

    January 18, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    I want to see that movie now, I love a movie that makes me happy – and precious few do these days – I agree with WW, forget the naysayers – live life, and live it abundantly – you go girl! x

     
    • etomczyk

      January 24, 2012 at 10:30 am

      Hi Karyn. Well, we went, we lived life, we had lots of laughs, and now we’re back to take care of business. Thank you for stopping by even though I wasn’t here. As soon as I get out this week’s blog, I’ll drop by your place to see what I’ve missed.

       
  6. Maggie

    January 18, 2012 at 6:34 pm

    You and our favorite WW have a wonderful time on his big day!!!! I know you probably have an a very creative plan for this time of celebration and I know you will have fun! As far as the hate talk, there is plenty of that to go around in this very heated political time!! I can’t stand to listen to any cable news anymore…. My blood pressure goes sky high! So avoid all news while you are away! 🙂

    P.S. I forgot to mention……has that guy on the golf course taken a look at his belly lately??? Really!?
    LOL! He has no room to talk and be so rude!!!

     
    • etomczyk

      January 24, 2012 at 11:11 am

      Hi Mags: We did have an awesome time and now I’m back to write about it. Stay tuned. As to the fat congressman’s remark about our First Lady, it just shows the deep core of disrespect amongst our representatives toward our president and his family. It has gone beyond the pale. It is rude and it is racial. Can you imagine him saying this about Laura Bush? So the First Lady is pushing vegetables. So what? Looks like this dude could use a few more vegetables and a little less pasta.

       
  7. Carolyn

    January 18, 2012 at 7:13 pm

    Sadly, my sister made a similar comment about our FLOTUS. When I told her how I felt about what she said, she decided that I’m no longer welcome in her home or to have any contact with her. That was almost a year ago and I still shake my head, when I think about it.
    You and your husband are jewels.

     
    • etomczyk

      January 24, 2012 at 11:19 am

      Oh Carolyn. I’m so sorry about your relationship with your sister. What is so sad about those comments about our FLOTUS is that they are criticizing a “body type.” The FLOTUS is in the best shape and form for her body type. It shows an ignorance on the part of the congressman and your sister as to that fact. Of course, their criticisms really have nothing to do with our FLOTUS’ behind but to the disdain for our President. If they can’t attack him, go after Mrs. Obama or their children. It’s all so juvenile and horrific.

       
  8. Dienna

    January 18, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    The comments people make about Michelle Obama’s body are disturbing. No other first lady would have her body critically dissected in that manner.

    Enjoy your time off from the blog!

     
    • etomczyk

      January 24, 2012 at 11:22 am

      Dienna: So true…so true. I am really amazed at our FLOTUS’ grace under this type of crap. I’m studying her to learn from it. I know I wouldn’t be as gracious and then people like the fat congressman would win.

       
  9. morristownmemos by Ronnie Hammer

    January 18, 2012 at 8:38 pm

    A change of pace and scenery is great for anyone: for someone whose head is about to explode there just isn’t anything else to do. Have a good time with WW.

    I’m concentrating on nice people like you and trying not to let obnoxious fools like the ones you mentioned keep me from enjoying a moment of my life.

    Ronnie

     
    • etomczyk

      January 24, 2012 at 11:29 am

      Hey Ronnie. We just got back and had a splendid time.

      I think you’re right. I meet so many lovely people in life; they are the ones that count–not the jerk with access to a news outlet. I’ll drop by later to check out what I’ve missed from your life. Cheers!

       
  10. totsymae1011

    January 18, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    Pat Robertson’s wacky. My sister thought it was senility but, as you recounted some of his last predictions, he’s just silly with a cult following. Obviously, Michelle’s backside is heavily on somebody’s mind. That’s how silly this whole opposition has become toward the Prez and his family. They’ve resorted to childish tactics, as name-calling.

     
  11. barkinginthedark

    January 21, 2012 at 7:53 pm

    sensenbrenner is the fat creep who tried to change our/my songwriter copyright laws a few years back. gingrich, robertson, and the rest of these card carrying racists are just venal, hypocritical scumbags, and if there is a hell all of these crooks will be able to hang together. (i hope this isn’t too angry for you.) continue…

     
    • etomczyk

      January 24, 2012 at 11:39 am

      Hi Tony. No, what you wrote is not too angry…good people everywhere “need” to get angry enough to push these crazies back into their closets. Good people everywhere need to become the majority with their voices of truth, tolerance, grace, and love so that it is not assumed that people like sensenbrenner, Gringrich, Robertson, etc. are the majority. Thanks for taking the time to read my work and leaving a comment. I truly appreciate it.

       
  12. DesiValentine

    January 22, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Wowzers. I’ve been reading philosophy all week for school, and one of the anecdotal statements made my Kwame Anthony Appiah popped into my head reading your post, today. Appiah was talking about how his dad, a white man from Britain fell in love with his mother (from Ashanti, Ghana). While neither of them were willing to give the details, his dad said something about how much he enjoyed his mother’s profoundly un-British behind. (*chuckles*) I think it would do Mr. Sensenbrenner well to open his eyes and step off his chummy little plantation, because most of the women in the world have “fat asses” by his estimation.
    Enjoy your week off, ET!

     
    • etomczyk

      January 24, 2012 at 11:53 am

      Hi Desi. I don’t know what stuns me more, the fact that this poor excuse for a human being was studying our FLOUTOS’ ass or that the comment about Mrs. Obama’s ass was said at a Christian Christmas event. I’m sure he’ll tell you he’s a god-fearin’ man and on good terms with the “Lawd.” Between that and the picture of his grotesquely out-of-shape body, the hypocrisy is atonishing.

       
  13. composerinthegarden

    January 24, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    As always, a brilliant post. I hope you have gently and joyfully reassembled your exploding head and will soon grace us with another great post. Welcome back:-)

     
  14. barkinginthedark

    February 21, 2012 at 1:36 am

    well done Eleanor. let’s not ever let the bastards get us down. continue…

     
    • etomczyk

      February 21, 2012 at 9:52 pm

      Thank you Tony. Glad you stopped by. Also, I agree with your poem about being black, a woman, and/or gay in the Republican party. Funny. . .and so true. All the best.

       

Leave a Reply

 
