RSS

Waiting for Santa

19 Dec

Well, my loyal and wonderful readers, I’m taking a break for two weeks to spend time with my delicious family.  They are pouring in from all parts by trains, planes, and automobiles.  The tree is up, the stockings have been hung with care, and I have enough food to feed an army.

Besides being the chief cook and chubby-cheek kisser of all peeps from three – eighty-three, I am on guard Christmas Eve as the Santa lookout.  The Sucker never, ever showed up to my house in The Cleve when I was a child, sending a strong signal that I was perennially on his “naughty” list.   (I’m inclined to believe the dude doesn’t exist.)  I have several years of “memory photos” of the rats eating Santa’s cookies when I hid in a closet with the door cracked to catch him in the act of consuming his midnight snack.

 

Google Image/originally uploaded by pyza

So now that I’m an adult who realizes one has to have a family to “eat the Santa cookies” in order to keep up the ruse, I’ll be standing guard Christmas Eve just in case while WW puts together a thousand piece train set for our grandson.  To help keep myself awake I’ll think about how, if I were a god who wanted to express his divine love to a gnarly bunch of ragamuffins who were constantly acting the fool against each other and the Earth, what better method could that god have used than to sneak in under cover as a baby and hang out in our midst for a few years to show us how to treat each other.

Google Image

To some it is hard to believe, but I actually think it’s pretty clever—hidden in plain sight.   And so with all the hope, love, peace and joy that Christmas offers from God incognito in a manger, Merry Christmas to you and yours from me and mine.

See you on January 5th!

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Eleanor Tomczyk and “How the Hell Did I End Up Here?” with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “Waiting for Santa

  1. Shonnie

    December 19, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    Merry Christmas E! Many blessings on you and yours this season and the coming new year. 🙂 Until we return from the otherside … ado!

     
    • etomczyk

      December 19, 2011 at 11:07 pm

      Hi Shonnie. Right back at you. I’ll be thinking of you and hoping for the best in reaching your goal as you travel to and fro. God bless!

       
  2. Hudson Howl

    December 19, 2011 at 11:34 pm

    From one ragmuffin to another Merry Christmas and shtufffs back at ya..

     
    • etomczyk

      December 19, 2011 at 11:45 pm

      Hudson, my man. Glad to see you! By the way, your beyond plum creek site is looking pretty spiffy. I love LOVE the pictures. You are quite artistic. All the best in your creative adventures in 2012. Take care. ET

       
  3. Maggie

    December 20, 2011 at 1:24 am

    Merry Christmas again and good luck with that train set!!!! I want lots of pictures! Love you, Maggie

     
  4. Life in the Boomer Lane

    December 20, 2011 at 7:00 am

    Have a glorious holiday!

     
    • etomczyk

      December 20, 2011 at 10:50 am

      Same to you RFisher. Looking forward to what you have to say next year about the Boomer Lane perspective. ET

       
  5. morristownmemos by Ronnie Hammer

    December 20, 2011 at 7:38 am

    I thought of you yesterday as I browsed through some blogs of young writers making snide remarks about older folks.

    I heard voices from elementary school, directed toward bullies in the class, “Why don’t you pick on someone your own size?” Change size to AGE and there’s my sophisticated argument to them.

    It’s nice to be in touch with someone my own age! Very happy holidays and watch the tippling of the 83 year old in your family!

    Ronnie

     
    • etomczyk

      December 20, 2011 at 10:48 am

      Right back at you Ronnie. All the best. Eleanor

       
  6. Tina

    December 20, 2011 at 9:20 am

    Yes, to you as well. I also will take a holiday hiatus. Later!

     
  7. imagesbytdashfield

    December 20, 2011 at 9:59 am

    Awwwwwwwww you have a grandson too! You are blessed that everyone is coming in to be with you for the holidays. It will be just us two again this year but there will be phone calls and maybe even video chats. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you too!

     
    • etomczyk

      December 20, 2011 at 10:41 am

      Hi T. Yes, we have a grandson and he is very beautiful. We are all so very excited that he’s at the age to know what is going on around him and this is the first year we’ve been close enough for us to be together. Merry Christmas to you and yours and thanks so much for making my blog experience such a good one by your support. All the best.

       
  8. aFrankAngle

    December 24, 2011 at 8:27 am

    Hey E-Tom,

    I know you are on vacation, but I wanted to wish you and WW a very Merry Christmas. I invite you and your readers to visit and select a present under the tree. http://afrankangle.wordpress.com/2011/12/24/on-a-time-for-gifts/

     
  9. morristownmemos by Ronnie Hammer

    December 25, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    Eleanor,

    I love your posts and have nominated you for The Versatile Bloggers Award. Congratulations!
    Just vivid my blogsite and follow the rules set down for accepting this award.

    Ronnie

     
  10. Mal

    December 26, 2011 at 5:03 am

    A lovely, interesting and cheery post, Eleanor! Season’s Greetings, my dear friend!

     
    • etomczyk

      December 26, 2011 at 10:16 am

      Thanks Mal. Hope you’re having a Santa gift-filled season as your blog suggests. All the best.

       
  11. societyred

    December 27, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    Eleanor, I love your blog and I nominated you for Liebster Blog Award, Congrats!

     
    • etomczyk

      December 27, 2011 at 5:31 pm

      Thanks so much John. I left you a more personal response on your blog. Happy New Year!

       
  12. aFrankAngle

    December 27, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    Message for WW.

    Eleanor did it again … she not only avoided my comment, she didn’t visit to get her gift. So I invite you to come over for the gifts under the tree … and yes, bring Eleanor along and she can pick too.

    Crushed in Cincinnati

     
    • etomczyk

      December 28, 2011 at 12:50 pm

      So what is this? Trying to slip a message to WW? Oh no you didn’t! I’ve been working my ass off cooking, cleaning, entertaining a house full of people and running after a 3-yr-old, and you’re trying to drag away my main support and help! Homie don’t play that. I thought you were on special assignment? I left a more detailed answer on your blog site. I’ll see you next year, my friend 🙂 Merry Christmas to you and Mrs. Angle.

       
      • aFrankAngle

        December 28, 2011 at 7:32 pm

        Ah ha …. so WW doesn’t know I left him a message! Oh well, I have confidence that he’ll see it. 🙂 … Now get back to work … and when you are done, come over and do the same here! Happy New Year in advance!

         
  13. Lindy Lee

    January 15, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    This post and your followers make me smile. Love abounds all around etomczyk…

     

Leave a Reply

 
