RSS

Are You Havin’ a Laff?

30 Nov

Do you know what I’ve discovered?  I love the way the British say: “Are ya havin’ a laff?” while their words transition from a low pitch to a screechy high note on the word “laff.”  I have a friend who is British and she speaks about laughter as if it were as ubiquitous as air:  “Ah was just havin’ a laff before I rang ya” (I’m sure when she reads this, she’s going to say, “Oh, bloody hell, Eleana; I’m from London, not Belfast—that doesn’t sound a thing like me!”).  I’ll definitely have a laugh at that statement. She cracks me up every time I talk to her because laughter comes so easily to her throat from the wellspring of her being, and I’ll take laughter wherever I can get it—from a knock-knock joke to a comedy club.  That is why, when the Muppets put out a movie after a twelve-year hiatus, I was there.

Google Image/The Muppets movie poster

On the surface I am Miss Piggy.  My motto in life is:  “If you’ve got it—flaunt it; if you own it (jewels that is), wear it!”  When I was looking for a man to marry many years ago, I chose one who preferred diamonds over sports, and he’s never disappointed me regarding the baubles.  Consequently, whether I’m grocery shopping or going to the opera, I’m always “blinged” to the max.  I never leave the house without looking like a million bucks and it doesn’t matter what size I am—I always think I’m sexy.  I’ve been a size 6 and I’ve been a size 20, but I strut my “stuff” and “drop it like it’s hot” every day.  To “represent” my black, bold, and beautiful self the bling is a given, the high heels are standard fare, and the wigs can rival Dolly Parton’s collection any day.

My alter-ego, Miss Piggy (who has a heart of gold), tries to control everything and everyone (including God) to keep her life in perfect working order, and she often fails—as do I—but it is who we are.  I mean, that’s who I am on the outside.

GOOGLE IMAGES/Miss Piggy (Angelic and “Drop it like it’s hot”)

 On the inside, I’m Gonzo the Great who, when he made his first appearance on the Muppet scene, was called the “Whatever” or a “Weirdo.”  Underneath my Miss Piggy facade, I’m a little bit frazzled, more than a little frenetic in thought, and I don’t quite fit in.  In what was thought to be the Muppet’s final movie in 1999, the fans discovered that Gonzo was an alien from a faraway planet in space and was of a different species.  Gonzo is never afraid to try anything, he’s super intellectual, and he is optimistic about everything.  When Gonzo was asked by a human actor on one of the Muppet shows, “Do you really think this (a Gonzo stunt) will work?” Gonzo replied, “No! Isn’t it terrific?!”  Take Gonzo and mix him with a Miss Piggy temperament of “you mess with me and your ass is grass” and that is “moi”!

Google Image, Gonzo the Great

The Muppet movie came out Thanksgiving weekend, and I pulled my husband (WW) out of the bed, kicking and screaming, early Sunday morning to see the 9:45 a.m. showing of what he considers a kid’s movie.   My theory was that we’d beat the church crowd and any little kids who were probably up but still eating breakfast.  I figured most of the kids would come to the gazillion showings after lunch.  I was wrong and so were the handful of other adults who were Muppet lovers.  The theater was wall to wall munchkins—some who were already screaming at a decibel only dogs can hear.  The “child-free” adults tried to protect each other by sitting together in the middle two rows, so that we didn’t have to deal with jack-in-the-box babies going in and out of the rows having to go to the bathroom every five minutes.

Google Image/cryingbaby.jpg

I haven’t been in a movie theater in a couple of years (I can’t deal with the masses), so I’d forgotten all the necessary rhythms and pacing needed to survive a 90 minute movie in a crowded theater. Consequently, I made a major mistake when I tried to overcompensate for lack of sleep the night before and the lack of food that morning.  When I got to the theater, I decided to kill two birds with one stone by ordering a large popcorn (I love the smell of movie popcorn) and a super large Coke to substitute for my breakfast and keep me alert (apparently, every little kid who came to see the movie had the same thought).  The kids (or their nutty parents) and I overcompensated for food and drink that morning and we would all collide like a frantic Muppet scene before morning’s end.

Here’s the deal:  I’ve gotten older and I am beginning to have old people problems.  I now take a blood pressure pill combo that is just for African-Americans because we are prone to high-blood pressure as a race (no shit Sherlock!), and most BP meds aren’t effective on us (the medical community doesn’t know why—personally, I think it is a federalist plot—can we say Tuskegee Syphilis Conspiracy?).   My BP meds have a really potent diuretic in them that gives this poor little Muppet exactly 20 seconds to make it to the nearest toilet.  There can be no dawdling, no obstructions, and no hindrances.  Of course if you’re an idiot and down a 64-ounce Coke during the first 30 minutes of a movie in a crowded theater, then you and your sorry-ass bladder deserve what you get.

Right after Kermit said that the Muppets’ raison d’etre was to bring laughter to their audiences (but before it was revealed what happened to the antagonist who was trying to steal their joy), I had no choice but to pop up out of my seat, leap over the long legs in the six seats to my left, push my way through the crowd, fly down the ramp, and into the lady’s room at the speed of one of the chickens trying to escape an ill-fated meal prepared by the Swedish Chef.

Google Image/Swedish Chef

I barely made it!  As I hopped, skipped, tacked, and danced my way toward one of the stalls in the crowded ladies room (why are there never enough bathrooms for women?), women and children giggled in recognition of my frenetic sphincter-squeezed, twisted thigh-dance as I blew past them screaming:  “OUT OF MY WAY BABIES—GRANDMA’S COMIN’ THROUGH AND HER DAM’S A BURSTIN’!” 

And that is what life will do to you one minute you’re conquering the world as the sexy blinged-out Miss Piggy, and the next minute you’re in full-out Gonzo mode, knowing your plan is probably not going to work.  But being able to laugh at yourself when the transition happens is one of the secrets to “getting over” in this life, the secret of harnessing joy, and the secret of not losing your mind or becoming a drug addict when life knocks the pee out of you.  When I finally caught up with my husband waiting patiently at the exit, he looked at me with a straight face and asked:  “Did everything come out all right”?  We fell into glorious gales of giggles as we made our way home singing the Muppet theme song and asking each other:  “Are you havin’ a laff”?

“Laugh at yourself first before anyone else can.”  ~Elsa Maxwell

Google Image/Buddhist Nuns Laughing

Many years ago WW and I were in our favorite café in Tel Aviv eating lunch and laughing it up with friends of ours who had come to visit us from the States just to cheer us up.  WW and I were living and working in Israel as expats and feeling really lonely and homesick.  We were laughing about some insane predicament we’d found ourselves in as foreigners who could barely speak the language at the time.  A regular Israeli customer of the café who had a rod up his ass (every race, religion, and gender has some of these types of people) came over to our table to loudly chastise us for laughing too exuberantly and allegedly disturbing his lunch.  As he lit into us, he made sure the entire restaurant heard his righteous indignation as he summarily squelched our joy.

“What is it with you rude Americans that you feel the entire world needs to be a part of your conversation and laughter?  Some of us are trying to eat in peace.  Either quiet down or take it outside!”

We were all chagrined that our laughter had allegedly gotten out of hand, so we apologized and stripped the joy-laden topics from our conversation and proceeded to “whisper” about topics with muted colors, because none of us wanted to come across as the “ugly American.”  What our angry Israeli dude didn’t know was that life had been really, really hard for WW and me during that season.  An associate of our business had died a tragic death, we had the staff from Hell who seemed to mutiny every other day, our business had been bombed to smithereens, my husband had been shot at by terrorists, and we had almost lost our older daughter to meningitis.   Being able to turn the dangerous and hard-living situations into stories of absurdity and laugh at them for the first time took away the mind-numbing nightmares and daily panic living in a country habitually at war with its neighbors.  Seeing our best friends for the first time since leaving home was effervescent.

In any case, our humorless café dweller put a damper on what had been a day of joy and great fun.  As my party left the restaurant, I remember looking back at the al fresco patio and furiously locking eyes with the angry diner.  The rather large Israeli challenged me with his eyes, that if I showed one gesture of defiance, he would come out of the restaurant and kick my ass.  After stuffing down my own anger and humiliation, and resisting the desire to “flip the bird” at the Israeli dude, I let it go, shook it off, and turned and walked away.  Much later, that lovely café was blown to bits by a terrorist’s bomb around the same time of day we had eaten there in the past.  I’ve often wondered if that fellow was there (all the diners were killed), and if the last thing he heard before he lost his life was “laughter” or the sound of his angry heart chomping on his falafel and salad.

******

I am discovering that life is all about joy!  Life, in and of itself, is super hard and we don’t have much control over that.  We do have control how we respond to life and therein lies the first step to joy!  I wish I could do a “do-over” with my children in regard to this truth.  I would drill this into their hearts and heads and I think it would make a difference this time.

  • Life is “bat-shit,” crazy-hard and disappointingly mean, Babies.  Get used to it, and get over it as fast as you can.  Because just when you think you’re over the hurdle of one disaster, another one will kick your ass into next week.  Life can turn on a dime like that—so rejoice whenever you can.

Google Image/Nuns laughing

  • Instead of dwelling on the hardness of life, find the joy in the midst of it all and laugh until you pee your pants.  You can always wash the pants, and your heart and those in your life will thank you for the joy you share with them.  (If the people in your life don’t laugh, like the Israeli dude didn’t, then “let them go” because they are to be pitied!)
  • As Christians, you need to know that Jesus was uproariously funny and had (has) a great sense of humor—his humor just got lost in translation by a lot of the people who claim to represent him.  Anybody who would hang out with fishermen one minute and children the next, dine with tax collectors, prostitutes, and Roman soldiers had to have had a wild sense of humor and we inherit that humor at a very early age.

 Google Image/Laughing baby

 “Man is fond of counting his troubles, but he does not count his joys.  If he counted them up as he ought to, he would see that every lot has enough happiness provided for it.”   – Fyodor Dostoevsky

“With the fearful strain that is on me night and day, if I did not laugh I should die.”  Abraham Lincoln

What makes YOU laugh? 

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Eleanor Tomczyk and “How the Hell Did I End Up Here?” with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 
45 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

45 responses to “Are You Havin’ a Laff?

  1. An Observant Mind

    November 30, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    Your posts always manage to take me on a delightful journey, firstly through your muppets movie and desperate need for the bathroom (hysterical) then through your time in Tel Aviv (what a fascinating life you have lived!) Through the details of the terrible year you had, the joy of being with like-minded and loved people and the lesson in liviing with humor and joy. You provide that for all of us (your readers) every week, and I have a sneaking suspicion that there will be an ‘extra jewel in your crown’ (as my grandmother used to say to me when I did something she felt God would approve of!) for you at the pearly gates for your contribution to our world! x

     
    • etomczyk

      November 30, 2011 at 9:07 pm

      Aye-yie-yie! I am really vaklempt! I don’t know what to say except, thank you–thank you! xoxo

       
  2. Hudson Howl

    November 30, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    This has so much heart.

    After reading, I thought, there are many types of heart as there is ‘state of minds’. Sad hearts. Lonely hearts. Broken hearts. Angry hearts. Hearts that beat as one. Hearts on fire -an list grows on. But to me the most important heart is the a ‘happy heart’. Do I laff as much as I should? NO. But I still laff. My inner smart-ass would have it no other way.

    Ever see the duet with Elton John and Miss Piggy doing ‘Don’t Go Breaking My Heart’.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 30, 2011 at 11:11 pm

      Hudson, you are a poet, but the question is: do you know it? Your comment is lovely.

      I’m going to YouTube right now to see the duet with Elton and Miss Piggy. All the best.

       
      • Maggie

        December 1, 2011 at 12:01 am

        Ok Miss Piggy Gonzo, some of my most cherished memories are with you and WW over the holidays, laughing till we were lining up at the bathroom doors so we wouldn’t have to wash our pants!! I can always hear that very distinct laugh of WW,s and it always makes me chuckle. Example….beach whale…Charades…LOL. Love ya

         
      • etomczyk

        December 1, 2011 at 1:21 am

        Maggie: That is so true and your comment lends verasity to my story. One of these days, I plan to write a story about WW’s laugh. I think God kissed that laugh into my husband’s body and it has been an anchor in our marriage. xoxo

         
  3. http://lifeintheboomerlane.com

    December 1, 2011 at 12:28 am

    None of us is aware as we go through our days how we impact on the lives around us. Without even interacting with people, we can have a profound affect on them. It’s all about the way we carry ourselves and the energy we put out. I’m so sad about the waiter. It takes so little to add joy to the world, but he felt the need to try to suck some of it out. You, my dear, are a huge force of positive energy.

     
    • etomczyk

      December 1, 2011 at 1:35 am

      So true Renee. What makes the story even sadder is that the gentleman in the restaurant was not a waiter. He was a customer who clearly had a rod up his ass that day for some reason or another. Maybe he was in pain over something devastating as well, and our table had become an irratant (like fingernails on a chalk board). He made a big show of storming up to our table and “loudly” chastising us. But that’s not important. What is important is that death was so close to the intersection of that venue in both the Israeli dude’s life and ours. Life is way too short to short-circuit joy. Even if he didn’t perish in that restaurant bombing, living in Israel is not easy. Most Israelis have a great sense of humor and laughter bubbles up easily from their spirits–he was an exception.

      Thanks so much for stopping by, and thank you for the lovely compliment. I really try my best to be a positive and encouraging person. It seems the least I can do for what I have received from this journey. Take care.

       
  4. afrankangle

    December 1, 2011 at 8:22 am

    I know your posts are full of messages about life … and this one is no exception – so you and Bush 43 – Bush 43 were singing Muppet tunes on the way home, but do you recommend the movie.

    Point 2: No fair reading about your bling nature while the Today show is having a segment about Liz Taylor’s jewels.

    Point 3: Now the picture of you dressed in your Miss Piggyness and acting like Gonzo in the bathroom made me laugh.

    Point 4: Well done …. so where is the video? So … here’s one for you.

     
    • etomczyk

      December 1, 2011 at 5:18 pm

      Frank: This video was great! I hadn’t seen this one. As to why my video didn’t embed, I don’t know what happened. I followed your instructions to a “t” but whenever I went to “preview” the entire thing would disappear. I think it was one of two things: I’ve got the “freebee” Word Press and it has limitations or maybe YouTube had some type of lock on the video (Evian Roller Skating Babies). Does one have to subscribe to YouTube to be able to utilize their clips?

      Yes, the Muppet movie is fabulous. It is very tongue-in-cheek about their unrelatability to the current generation. There are tons of cameo appearances and scores of puns. They run two tracks of humor: one for the kids and one for the adults which is really hard to do. It worked. Both kids and adults were doubling over in their chairs with laughter. Thanks for giving me a laugh today with the Youtube clip. Cheers!

       
      • afrankangle

        December 1, 2011 at 8:09 pm

        Ah ha … I think I discovered the problem. You mentioned using the Preview button. Ah ha … Save the Draft first, then Preview. Let me know … and thanks for the movie recommendation.

         
      • etomczyk

        December 1, 2011 at 8:19 pm

        Actually, I did save draft first and then previewed. I didn’t want to go from “save draft” to “publish” because I didn’t know what would happen???

         
  5. Tina

    December 1, 2011 at 9:09 am

    Laughter. Finding the joy in every day. I agree, if I could go back and teach that to my kids as the number one in life. Here’s a quote from Monty Python, John Cleese. “Laughter is a social sanction against inflexible behavior.” Though I am relatively blingless, I do flaunt my own glitter. Carry on!

     
    • etomczyk

      December 1, 2011 at 5:23 pm

      Thanks Tina. I know what you mean about what to teach the kids. Who knew life would be so hard?

       
  6. sondra

    December 1, 2011 at 12:30 pm

    As you know I am the first to laugh at myself…I find what I do and say sometimes to be very funny…..At one point in my life I was a the cosmetics department manager at Macy’s. While giving a presentation on a new product I declared that it would put a barrier between you and you skin…of course I meant a barrier between pollutants and your skin..looking out at the crowd and not understanding why they were looking at me like an alien…I realized what I said and just doubled over with laughter needless to say everyone else did too and it became the running joke…I love to laugh it is food for our souls..thank you for this story, for your gift, and your willingness to expose yourself.

     
    • etomczyk

      December 1, 2011 at 5:25 pm

      Sondra: Your story is a hoot. I do this all of the time. You either have to cry or laugh! All the best.

       
  7. societyred

    December 1, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    What a great story! I really enjoy your blog and your sense of life. Thank you!

     
    • etomczyk

      December 1, 2011 at 5:26 pm

      Thanks Societyred for stopping by. I really appreciate your comments. All the best.

       
  8. Tim Hougland O.D.

    December 1, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    I’m as white as they come, but I think the correct term for the Israeli guy is “hater.” I hope I spelled that right.

    It’s terrible that people like that are allowed to have such an effect on our lives, but I feel like they’re essential for the whole universal yin/yang balance. If there were no assholes, who would we measure our saints against? I mean, I guess we could measure saintly people in comparison to other saints, but then it seems like the un-saintliest of saints could, by definition, be labeled an asshole. Maybe my measuring stick is broken.

    The most important thing to me is that there are people, like you, who are sweet enough to maintain the balance so that ignorant people don’t set the world on fire with their hate. It’s really a good correlation that you mentioned the Muppets in this post, since in my mind they embody the joy and joie de vivre that we should all live our lives with.

    Also, since I’m an eye guy, I feel your pain with the whole blood-pressure-med conundrum regarding the fact that only certain ones work with African-Americans; unfortunately, there are glaucoma medications that act the same way for unknown reasons. It’s like the meds themselves are racist. It’s just not right.

     
    • etomczyk

      December 1, 2011 at 5:32 pm

      Hi Tim: Thanks so much for your thoughtful comments. I don’t know if I was so sweet. I had my two-year-old with me and I didn’t want any violence to erupt in front of her. This fellow was SO angry that I knew if I didn’t back down, he wouldn’t, and I couldn’t risk my child getting hurt. I am actually not proud of myself that I let that guy steal my joy. I had control over that, and I should have guarded my heart better. Fortunately, my husband was beside me and kept saying “let it go.”

      Ain’t it the truth about those meds? They drive me crazy, but what are you going to do. All the best.

       
  9. Michael Zeigler

    December 1, 2011 at 6:45 pm

    As usual – great stuff Eleanor! This is exactly the ‘prescription’ that I need today. Keep up the great work!

     
    • etomczyk

      December 1, 2011 at 6:55 pm

      Thanks Mike. Did you recognize Susannah? 🙂

       
  10. wingoov

    December 1, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    Dear Eleanor! You are such a joy!
    What makes me laugh? Well, pretty much everything, I guess. My dog, cats, sons, husband. Politicians. FOX News (although laughter is probably not the reaction they’re hoping for). Cranky people totally crack me up. Indignant people, full of self-righteouenss, usually bring a grin to my face. And wise, witty women covered in baubles and full of bubbly, determined joy always bring a happy smile to my face, and to my heart. (I’m pretty sure hearts can smile. I mean. Right?)

     
    • etomczyk

      December 1, 2011 at 7:43 pm

      Hi Wingoov: I do believe hearts can smile 🙂 Absurdity makes me laugh more than anything. If life is supposed to go one way but takes a different route and causes mayhem, I have to laugh at the absurdity of it all, or I’d just fall apart. I’ve not yet learned to laugh at Fox News (they hurt my head)! All the best.

       
  11. Carolyn

    December 1, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    You’re funny post made me laugh today. Thanks for giving me the boot and reminding me to laugh at myself, too.

    I don’t think you gave us your opinion of the new Muppets movie. Please.

     
    • etomczyk

      December 1, 2011 at 7:54 pm

      The movie was fabulous. It’s a must see. The humor grabs both the adults and the kids which is hard to do. The puns, the pratfalls, and the clever jokes are off the charts. I give it two thumbs up.

       
  12. Sunshine

    December 1, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    Love this gift….my favorite read is, On the Surface, I’m Miss Piggy!
    Never leave home unless you look and feel like a million bucks…..amen and hallelujah! 🙂

     
    • etomczyk

      December 1, 2011 at 11:14 pm

      Hello, Sister-friend Sunshine. I love it when I meet a kindred spirit. Thanks so much for stopping by.

       
  13. nonnie9999

    December 2, 2011 at 3:07 am

    oy! i’m afraid that i’m more like oscar the grouch than miss piggy. there was a time when i could wear anything. these days, dressing up means putting on the t-shirt with the fewest stains and a pair of jeans instead of the stretch pants. when i was a skinny little thing, it didn’t really matter that i didn’t really have any strong sense of style, because anything looked okay. these days, i can give a college freshman a run for his money in the slob department (the fact that i’m female makes that ever more pathetic). bling? i don’t even know where most of it is. i have a necklace my sister gave me and a cheap pair of gold hoops that i wear 24/7 and only remove for x-rays and ultrasounds (by the way, the paper schmattas they give me to wear are more fashionable than the outfits i wear into the facility). and shoes? not only do i have the ugliest feet in the world, i’ve had several surgeries on them in the past, and they don’t like shoes, and shoes don’t like them. if i ever win the lottery, the first thing i will buy is a pair of custom-made shoes. heels? why not just stick a stiletto in my eye? that would be less painful. i dread the day when someone i know gets married or dies, because i honestly have nothing to wear.

    i do still wear makeup, but that’s mostly because i scare the shit out of myself when i pass a mirror when i’m not wearing any.

    i’m waiting for burqas to catch on.

     
    • etomczyk

      December 2, 2011 at 8:41 am

      Nonnie: You know your comment would make a great blog post, don’t you? If you get tired of the political realm or need a break one week, fleshing out your comment into a story would be hysterical because it would really hit home. I didn’t say I wore the shoes without pain, but I believe in that old southern belle adage that “beauty knows no pain.” (I even think Miss Piggy’s feet are killing her, but she won’t admit it.) And I dress like a diva because I refuse to let a handfull of designers tell me I’m not beautiful because I’m no longer a size 6. At least when you meet me some day, you’ll know me by the bling, the eyelashes (I forgot to mention that vanity point), and the stilettos. Ha! 🙂

       
      • nonnie9999

        December 3, 2011 at 5:22 am

        thanks eleanor. i’m going to be staying at my son’s apartment for 10 days or so this month while he goes to washington state to visit some friends. i have to babysit his fish. yeah, i said fish. they have to be fed twice a day (and g-d forbid any of them croak). of course, the real pain in the ass is when i have to take them for a walk. those are really small leashes.

        anyway, i won’t have photoshop while i’m up there, so i’ll have to either do a helluva lot of photoshopping before i leave, recycle some old images, or–oy vey bloviate on one subject or another. of course, i could just do nothing for 10 days or so, but i’m afraid that nobody will ever come back if i do that. 😥 the offspring only live a couple of hours away, so i might go up for a few days, come back here for a couple (the fishies are okay for a couple of days without stuffing their faces), but it’s all rather up in the air right now.

        i can’t wait to meet you in person someday. i’ll be the one with the white powder on my face and the brown shadow under my eyes. i find it easier to just tell people i’ve been sick rather than actually try to look good enough for human observation. 😉

         
      • etomczyk

        December 3, 2011 at 2:03 pm

        Nonnie: I can’t imagine people not returning to your blog if you took a well-deserved break. I think you have a really loyal following. But I think you might miss writing. You’re really good (even your comments are hysterical), so maybe “bloviating” on some other topics might be great for your collection.

         
  14. aFrankAngle

    December 2, 2011 at 8:26 am

    E-Tom,
    Before I give you a different way, find a video and then come to my site and insert it into a comment … that why I can see the “code”. 😉

     
  15. imagesbytdashfield

    December 2, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    I have been a card carrying Muppet Fan Club member since I don’t know when and intend on seeing it asap. I still have the stuffed muppet dolls somewhere in this house. You have now inspired me to go out there and wear my nice stuff that I have instead of schlepping out in jeans (although one can bling and rock the hell out of jeans too). That Israeli guy did have issues didn’t he. If he is still alive I hope he has learned that life is about joy and laughter because far too many damn times it is the exact opposite. But I’m still cracking up about you being blinged out and dropping it like it’s hot. I must tell you one day about my teaching my WW about “Back that thang up” LOL

     
    • etomczyk

      December 2, 2011 at 3:44 pm

      TDashfield: Please, please, please write a blog about teaching your husband to “Back that thang up!” I laughed so hard when I read that line. Too funny. And yes, you can bling and rock some jeans, although like Miss Piggy, I don’t “do” jeans. 🙂

      The more I think of my angry Israeli guy, the more I feel sorry for him. The Middle East is not an easy place to live and laughter is a must. Fortunately, he was an expection–most Israelis are the salt of the Earth and joy exudes from them. All the best!

       
      • imagesbytdashfield

        December 2, 2011 at 4:10 pm

        I have taught him how to do the Cupid Shuffle and he can “sing” a bit of Biz Markie’s ‘You got what I need’. And to think he used to sing opera ROFL

         
  16. DesiValentine

    December 2, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    I saw The Muppet movie with a girlfriend and my Stickbug. We had a really good time. But my mistake? The wee man and I had smoothies for “supper” on our way to stuff ourselves with movie popcorn. Bug is 3, so I fully expected that we would have to leave partway through the movie, but other than some sleepy cuddles he was fine. Me? Well, let’s just say that I spent the last twenty minutes of the movie just praying that I wouldn’t sneeze =D
    Here’s to all of us who are Gonzo on the inside! Cheers, ET!

     
    • etomczyk

      December 3, 2011 at 1:54 pm

      Hi Desi. I see you felt my pain. I was so convinced I was going to have to wrap my gorgeous Liz Taylor shawl around my waist to hide a wet bottom just to exit the theater. Fortunately, it didn’t come to that, but it sure was a close call.

      I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, though. And I truly laughed!

       
  17. etomczyk

    December 3, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Yep, the national characteristic of Israel is that the citizens are extremely opinionated. Which can really be refreshing, but sometimes it can cross the line as you’ve experienced. It is a wonderful place and the people, both Israelis and Arabs, are deleightful. We humans can really get crazy on each other at times. All the best!

     
  18. jakesprinter

    December 3, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    Nice post awesome 🙂

     
    • etomczyk

      December 4, 2011 at 7:56 am

      Thanks for dropping by, Jake. I write stories about a lot of things. Please drop by and read some of the other stories when you have a moment. I also post every Thursday. All the best.

       
  19. arghyaraj

    December 5, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    your words made the muppets more merrier , somewhere far away….

     
    • etomczyk

      December 5, 2011 at 9:20 pm

      Thanks Arghyaraj: The movie was really quite funny. In the midst of all my crazies, I really laughed. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. That was so sweet. Cheers!

       
  20. barkinginthedark

    December 10, 2011 at 8:07 pm

    diuretics are a real pisser! i know. lovely tour through your head. continue…

     
  21. Shonnie

    December 11, 2011 at 1:30 am

    you always make me smile … hugs and Merry Christmas. Be back to write some more when I can think clearly … it is way past the pumpkin hour here.

     

Leave a Reply

 
