RSS

Get Up Outta My Face

17 Nov

Do you know what I’ve discovered?  I’d love to have the power to “zap” the hell out of people when they get up in my face with all their trash talkin’.  I’ve always been a great fan of the Harry Potter books and all fantasies with wizards and wands, and after watching the latest and final installment of “Deathly Hallows-Part 2” (I had read the book ages ago, of course), I truly wished I had a magic wand.   But unlike Harry, I’m not so sure I could have given up possession of the “Elder Wand” (the most powerful wand that ever existed).

As I languidly daydreamed about what it would be like to have my own super-powerful wand which I would name “Bitch-zap,” I thought to myself that I could do some serious damage against all the people who got on my nerves.  Depending on who pissed me off and in what mood I was in that day, you’d hear a “BITCH-ZAP” here and a “BITCH-ZAP” there—here a “ZAP,” there a “ZAP,” everywhere a “BITCH-ZAP”!  Now don’t be alarmed!  With my super-charged ability to cast a variety of spells, I would be very benevolent and would only turn most people into a motley crew of odd looking animals—until they shut the fuck up.  It wouldn’t be about physically harming anyone, as much as it would be about making them “get up outta my face.”

ZAP!

Google Image/Eleanor’s Favorite “Tomato Frog Zap”

ZAP-ZAP!

Google Image/Eleanor’s Favorite “Thumb Nail Frog” Zap

I think I would limit my powers to a couple of categories (one never wants to be greedy in one’s grasp for wand power):  personal grievances and political annoyances.

For the men who did me wrong in the past, I used to think I would obliterate them from the face of the Earth.  But in retrospect, meeting them helped me realize what I didn’t want, and when I met my husband, WW (white and wonderful), my vision had been greatly sharpened, and I knew he was the real deal.  So now I’d just turn those “players” into Blob fish and bury them at the bottom of the deepest sea.

ZAP-ZAP!

Google Image/Eleanor’s “Blob fish Zap” used against players

For the employers who’ve represented “The Man” in my journey (they’ve all been white and male), I’d turn those silly white men into Axolotls and toss them to the bottom of the deepest sea, especially the one who told me that he thought I wasn’t very bright (I had disagreed with him on something).  That “Boss-man” told me I should make a note that when he walks into a room he is normally the smartest person there on any given day; therefore, nothing I had to say could possibly trump what he had already declared.

ZAP-ZAP-ZAP!

Google Image/Eleanor’s “Axolotl Boss Zap”

When my teenagers started hurling their “sassy-mouth,” right-of-passage smack toward me, I wouldn’t have wanted them to come to any harm, but I would have used my Bitch-zap wand in a heartbeat to “zap-a-zip” on those argumentative sassy mouths and would have kept them zipped until their late twenties when they began to see my brilliance as it should have been seen at sixteen, and who now think “I’m all that and a bag of chips” (Girls, that’s all I’m sayin’)!

ZAP!

Google Image/Eleanor’s “Bird of Paradise Zap” Used Specifically for Mouthy Teenagers

 When it came to politics, I would have a field day!  Ann Coulter and her slave mentality of “our blacks are so much better than their blacks” would be sent back to Madagascar with her suitable rodent-like teeth and extended middle finger that she could no longer use against all the good people everywhere who oppose her snarky, mean-spirited commentary.   This Negro would insure that her middle finger could only be used to forage for grubs out of the knots of trees.

BITCH-ZAP!

 Google Image/Eleanor’s “Aye-Aye Zap” (Reserved for Ann Coulter only)

Rush Limbaugh, Glenn Beck, the entire cast of Fox News, and Pat Buchannan with their barely disguised racism against Jews, Blacks, and Latinos (who would like to see us all “banished” from their “great country”) would be zapped into an animal that rarely sees the light of day and has no human contact of any color.

ZAP! ZAP! ZAP! ZAP!

Google Image/Eleanor’s “Star-nosed Mole Zap” for Fox News and Racist Radio Pundits

And of course, I’ve made it well known that I have no regard for people who claim to speak in God’s name, claiming that God told them to ascend, acquire, or acclaim a position of power when they’re just plain ol’ greedy, ambitious, and trying to promote a book.

EXHIBIT A:  “I prayed and prayed and prayed—I’m a man of faith; I had to do a lot of praying for this one, more praying than I’d ever done before in my life.  When I finally realized that it was God saying that this is what I needed to do, I was like Moses:  ‘You’ve got the wrong man, Lord.  Are you sure?’  Now, you’re not supposed to doubt God, but I’m going, ‘I think maybe you’re looking at somebody else’…but I did not look back.”  Herman Cain’s Mountaintop experience as reported in Huffington Post.

Herman, let’s just say God did tell you to run for president.  He didn’t tell you that you would win—now did he?  Think about it.  Anita Perry heard the same thing about her husband, Sarah Palin heard the same thing about herself, and Bachmann claims the same hotline to God.  You can’t all be right.  I zap-zap Hermie to the bottom of the sea—instantly!

ZAP! ZAP AND DOUBLE-ZAP TO BOTTOM OF SEA!

Google Image/Eleanor’s “Double Octopus Zap”

(Reserved for only the stupidest amongst us)

******

I had a lot of grins and giggles pondering this harmless daydream for several days until the Penn State nightmare began to seep into my psyche.  As I came out of the “clouds” to stare into the glare of reality, I realized I’d give anything to really have an Elder Wand with its “killing curse” because I would do a hell of a lot more than turn people into odd looking creatures.  I’d do God’s job.

As any of my friends will tell you, I don’t know diddly-squat about football programs (I barely can recognize the shape of a football), but I know an inordinate amount about the evils of pedophilia.  I know what it looks like, I know what it feels like, and I know what it sounds like.  I was made painfully aware of its presence at ages 6, 7, and 8 and then again at ages 9, 10, and 11.  Jerry Sandusky, I’ve read the Grand Jury Report from cover to cover, and I heard your shameless interview with Bob Costas.  “Jerry Sandusky,” I KNOW YOU!  I’m one of the millions of children who was left “alone, abandoned to evil, and weeping in the dark,”* because of perverts like you.  If I had a magic wand, I’d point it at your penis and blow it to smithereens because I know your “voice,” and I know you’re guilty!

Jerry Sandusky, if I had the power I would go on a “seek and destroy” mission with my wand on behalf of all your victims and I wouldn’t stop until justice had been done.  I don’t give a shit how many football games your “Joe-Pa” has won or how many great football programs he put into place.  I don’t give a fuck if Penn State ever plays another football game as long as the Earth exists.  I would make Coach Paterno, Asst. Coach McQueary, and all who colluded with them to keep your deviance under wraps, sit face to face with every victim of your touch, while they graphically relayed what you did to them and the subsequent trauma of trying to find their way onto the path of a “normal” life as they attempted to grow up.  When Joe-Pa and all his cronies finished listening to the victims of Penn State, then I’d have them listen to all the victims of the Catholic Church, and finally they’d listen to my childhood terror.

I was six years old, Coaches Paterno and McQueary—six-years-old!

Coach Paterno, Assistant Coach McQueary, Athletic Director Curley, Vice President Schultz, and the janitors who saw Sandusky in action but never told, so as to protect their jobs:  Do you have grandchildren, little nieces and nephews, or little godchildren?  If forcing you to listen to the retelling of all our stories didn’t drive you insane, as to the prospect of this type of abuse happening to your own flesh and blood, then I’d finish you all off with a “zap” into Hell for your egregious sin of omission which allowed Sandusky to get away with the murder of our innocence, our psyches, and our childhood.

******

But I don’t live in a daydream, and I refuse to become a monster in order to demolish one.  I live in reality and I am discovering that I’ve had a magic wand all my life, and I’ve used it frequently:  its name is forgiveness; its power is the reason I am sane.

I am discovering that forgiveness is not for the perpetrator as much as it is for the victim.  I learned that a long time ago. The perpetrator(s) may never repent (mine never did), but forgiveness is still the most powerful wand of the day that allows the victim(s) to become a triumphant survivor(s) and get on with his or her life.   I’m also discovering that to hang onto bitterness and revenge against the Jerry Sanduskys of the world allows the evil to continually rape us.

If I could give a magic wand to the precious “children” of Penn State, I’d give them the wand of forgiveness to be used toward their rapist and all who colluded against them.  However, if I could “zap” the misguided students of Penn State who rioted on campus like petulant children upon hearing about their beloved coach’s firing, I would zap them with the wand of “compassion” and “accountability.”  They are not too young to learn something Joe-Pa failed to exemplify:  all children are our children.

The author on the left at six-years-old

******

Upon finishing this post, I learned of another sexual abuse cover-up that happened at The Citadel in their summer camp program by one of their camp counselors (Louis Neal “Skip” ReVille) four years ago.  The Citadel did not report it to the police.  Mr. Reville graduated and went on to become the principal of Coastal Christian Preparatory School “where he coached sports for several years,” according to the Huffington Post.  ReVille was arrested in October for allegedly molesting at least five children unrelated to the Citadel whose program is now defunct.

Have we had enough?

Speak up!  Keep a child safe.

www.stopitnow.org

No higher cause can trump that obligation (natural justice) — not a church, and certainly not a football program. And not even a lifetime of heroism† can make up for leaving a single child alone, abandoned to evil, weeping in the dark.* From an Op-Ed NY Times piece, “The Devil And Joe Paterno” by Ross Douthat (†Referencing Dario Castrillon Hoyos who “was elevated to the College of Cardinals and placed in charge of the Vatican’s Congregation for the Clergy, where he came to embody the culture of denial that characterized Rome’s initial response to the sex abuse crisis.”)

******

Forgiveness is the answer to the child’s dream of a miracle by which what is broken is made whole again, what is soiled is made clean again. —Dag Hammarskjold

******

It really doesn’t matter if the person who hurt you deserves to be forgiven. Forgiveness is a gift you give yourself. You have things to do and you want to move on.  Real Live Preacher, RealLivePreacher.com Weblog, July 7, 2003

Text by Eleanor Tomczyk © 2011

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Eleanor Tomczyk and “How the Hell Did I End Up Here?” with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 
49 Comments

Posted by on November 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

49 responses to “Get Up Outta My Face

  1. becomingcliche

    November 17, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Powerful stuff.

    And I think I once worked for a guy who looked like the axolotle.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 17, 2011 at 9:25 pm

      B-Cliche: I just left your site “scolding” you for not writing. What if you’re our next Tina Fey? My writing can wait. Go forth and write, my friend! 🙂

       
  2. Elyse

    November 17, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    Oh, I haven’t even finished reading it, but must, must, must ask if I can be there when you get Ann Coulter with Eleanor’s “Aye-Aye Zap” (Reserved for Ann Coulter only). No more from me now, but you know it’s somehow hard to include all the stuff you love in a comment. I just couldn’t forget what you’re gonna do to Ann.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 17, 2011 at 9:54 pm

      I know! Doesn’t that Aye-Aye resemble Ann Coulter in a bazaar sort of way? 🙂

       
  3. Hudson Howl

    November 18, 2011 at 12:10 am

    Am almost too scared to comment. I say ‘almost’. I know you would never point your wand at I but there is always a chance of taking a ricochet, I think I have discovered a cure for feeling funky an melancholy. Just show up here an read you! This picked me up. Was having one of those weeks where I would have worn out a couple of them wands.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 18, 2011 at 6:04 am

      Why, Hudson, Darlin’, are you trying to say that I’m a formidable woman? 🙂 To my friends, I am as gentle as a dove.

      Thanks so much for showing up and supporting my blog. It means the world to me. Have a great day! ET

       
      • Hudson Howl

        November 18, 2011 at 8:32 am

        I have no doubts you are a ‘formidable woman’. Every hideous evil entity out there would cowardly crawl under a rock if your mind chose to stroll through their dark forest.

        Have a great day yourself!

         
  4. nonnie9999

    November 18, 2011 at 2:30 am

    you know that this congress would serve that tomato frog to school children and say that it’s a vegetable. i think you need to bitch-zap bronzo the clown and a few more in the house. i have a list if you need it.

    as for penn state, i had the same question about paterno. he has 17 grandchildren. if it had been one of his own getting anally raped in the shower, would he still have aided and abetted sandusky for the sake of his precious penn state? i don’t know if i could ever forgive. at most, i would try to understand. there has to be a reason why people do such horrible things. if we understand why, maybe we can prevent it in the future.

    p.s. that blob fish looks like a cross between newtie gingrich and ziggy.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 18, 2011 at 6:16 am

      Nonnie: You’re right. I wish I had seen the resemblance between Newt and the blob fish. Also, very funny about the tomato frog and congress’ stupidity on school lunches. I live in DC and I frequent the gourmet restaurants Congress eats in–they should be ashamed.

      As to Penn State, you can’t survive unless you let the horror go and forgive. Trust me. You don’t have an option if you want to live and not let the subsequent wage consume you and others, which it will (the rage can take over one’s entire life). Forgiveness is not so much for the rapist as it is for the one who has been raped. It sets you free.

      As to Sandusky’s 17 grandchildren, it made me weak in the knees to read that. I didn’t know he had that many children around him. I have a feeling there is more to the story, yet to be revealed. I have a feeling, his children need to be interviewed. These type of people start at home. God have mercy.

       
      • nonnie9999

        November 19, 2011 at 2:56 am

        i don’t know if sandusky has any grandchildren or not. i was talking about paterno. he has 17 grandchildren, and i wonder what his decision might have been had it been one of his grandsons getting anally raped.

        i can understand what you’re saying about forgiveness, but there are some of us (the nastier ones, usually) for whom anger is the force that allows us to keep going. i don’t mean rage, because rage is destructive. anger can be a very useful thing as long as it’s tempered with action that might make things better. however, i agree with you on forgiveness in one sense. it’s important to forgive yourself, especially when you are not really to blame for anything. so many victims think they deserved what happened to them, when nothing could be further from the truth.

         
      • etomczyk

        November 19, 2011 at 8:26 am

        Nonnie: Why does that sound even worse to me, that Paterno has 17 grandchilren? Doesn’t that make his “sin of omission” seem even more cold and calculated–more self-preserving? I would not have been able to sleep all those years, knowing what I knew about Sandusky, while I played with my grandchildren. I honestly think this attitude of “I’ve got mine and it’s all secure and lovely, but if you hurt and your world in falling apart, well that sucks for you,” is the systemic thread through all our countries problems throughout our history and especially within that last decade or so. We (88% of Americans) boast of being a Christian nation but our regard for each other is pretty antithetical to the teachings of Christ.

        As to forgiveness, no one could me nastier than I have been (trust me)–you would not have wanted to meet me in a dark alley in my youth. The rage lastest for years. I got healed (slowly) because I did forgive myself. I was one of the victims that was blamed by the perpetrators of “bringing it on myself” (you don’t know rage until the rapist and molester bears no consequence for his action because the caretakers agree that the victim is the problem and gang up on you to convict you of that lie). The forgiveness took a long time, and I honestly don’t think it would have been possible for me without lovin’ me some Jesus–big time. That type of grace, love, gradual healing, and wholeness is so “magical” (for lack of a better word), that I can only define its reality by the “absence” of things in my psyche: no more nightmares, no more hatred, no more rage, no more pain, no more crying (I cried every single day for 16 years), and no more depression.

        The rage is gone but there is enough anger (the type you’re talking about) left to fight for others which is the anger that is needed if I (we) don’t want to turn into the Paternos of the world and turn a blind eye to the pain and suffering of others in the world.

        P.S. I forgave the bastards but it doesn’t mean I have to visit them for Christmas or ever speak to them again (they lost that priviledge); I don’t need to regard them at all. Forgiveness is one thing — eradicating that cancer from one’s life is another.

         
  5. Kimberly

    November 18, 2011 at 5:55 am

    I love the statement “all children are our children”. This is a mentality lost in our modernized culture of distrust and an every man for himself mantra. Protecting our childrens’ childhoods is the least priority in America today, especially someone else’s child…yeah right. Bravo on exposing what should never remain unsaid.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 18, 2011 at 6:18 am

      Hello beautiful! Thanks for stopping by and commenting 🙂

       
  6. Mal

    November 18, 2011 at 6:52 am

    omg, omg, omg!! Your ‘friends’ just blew me away…..kinda cute in a pretty ugly way!
    Way to go, gal.. 😀

     
    • etomczyk

      November 18, 2011 at 8:42 am

      Thanks Mal. Aren’t these creatures amazing? I had to double check to see if they were real. Yikes! Really appreciate the support!

       
  7. afrankangle

    November 18, 2011 at 8:15 am

    Whoa … what an emotional roller coaster. The humor around Bitch Zap is simply a hoot … and you went through a bunch of those who need it. But, as we know, our world provides an unlimited supply.

    Back to the comment. From humor to anger to forgiveness … the latter is one that surprised me. Well done oh wise one.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 18, 2011 at 8:49 am

      Frank: Your comments are always so wonderful. If I ever get a publisher, I think I want you as a blurb commenter on the back cover.

      The bottom line was (and is) always forgiveness. I’ve seen the power of it in my life. But as I read the Penn State stories, I noticed the anger beginning to rise in me and my imagination entertaining dark thoughts about meeting Jerry Sandusky in a back alley with a cattle prod. That’s when I remembered that wanting to hurt those who hurt us is human but being able to forgive really is divine. Have a good one, my friend.

       
  8. Tina

    November 18, 2011 at 9:31 am

    So difficult, that forgiveness thing. Thank you.

    The Sacrifice
    Dag Hammarskjold

    Forgiveness breaks the chain of causality because he who ‘forgives’ you–out of love–takes upon himself the consequences of what you have done. Forgiveness, therefore, always entails a sacrifice. The price you must pay for your own liberation through another’s sacrifice is that you in turn must be willing to liberate in the same way, irrespective of the consequences to yourself.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 18, 2011 at 9:44 am

      Tina: I had not seen this quote on sacrifice. It is magnificent and it is so true! Thank you. ET

       
  9. imagesbytdashfield

    November 18, 2011 at 10:01 am

    You’ve gone wild again! Love the bitch-zap though. As someone who used to work as a SW in child abuse, I have seen some things I wish I could’ve bitch zapped the hell out of people for. Forgiveness is freeing but oh it hurts. But in the interim, can I just slide you my list of folks to zap under the table?

     
    • etomczyk

      November 18, 2011 at 10:34 am

      I know, I know, T. Don’t you wish we just had that power, even if for a limited time? The problem with the wand power is similar to the power of the death penalty: it is too easy to overstep one’s boundaries and “zap” an innocent. I just know I’d be the last person standing, and everyone from near and far would be turned into weird little animals because everybody gets on my nerves at one time or another. I’ll leave God to his job and I’ll stick to forgiveness. 🙂

       
  10. SzaboInSlowMo

    November 18, 2011 at 12:44 pm

    I need to borrow that bitch-zap. Seriously though, I always love your take on things. And while I’m sorry for what you’ve been through, I admire how you have overcome it. Still tying to get the hang of this forgiveness thing though…thus the bitch-zap need!

     
    • etomczyk

      November 18, 2011 at 12:59 pm

      LOL, Szabo! I know. I frequently wish I had one such wand at hand because the forgiveness thing is so hard. The secret to forgiveness, I think, is sometimes it has to happen many times over before the pain finally rides off into the sunset and stays there. The hurt has a way of being rekindled at the slightest provocation, and one has to remind one’s self that holding on to the hurt is not a good thing–thus the forgiveness “redo.” Cheers!

       
  11. sondra smith

    November 18, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    Love the bitch zap….there have been times in my life I could have really used one! I think that the biggest bitch zap is forgiveness….What an amazing talent you are!

     
    • etomczyk

      November 18, 2011 at 2:34 pm

      Thanks Sondra. You’re such a gem. Thank you for being such a great supportive reader. Cheers!

       
  12. DesiValentine

    November 18, 2011 at 4:07 pm

    Oh, honey. Clearly I have a lot of growing up to do, because I want to kill them with my hands. These people who hurt our children, who make them feel small and weak and broken, who make them climb that mountain with that slab of granite on their backs before they can feel whole again…. It is a very, very good thing that such wands don’t exist. The people who have hurt me have my forgiveness. I gave that gift to myself some years ago. But the people who could hurt my children? Nevermind that wand, ET.
    Also? The smartest guy in the room quote was absolutely genius! I’ve had my fair share of employers who obviously thought that, but WOW!

     
    • etomczyk

      November 18, 2011 at 4:16 pm

      Hi Desi. Always great to have you drop by. Your comments are little morsels of delicious prose. I must admit that I forgive people that hurt me easier than I do those that hurt my children. I tend to become insane when people mess with my kids. The first time a little child hurt one of the girls (normal, bratty, bullying kid stuff), I wanted to take the kid out–him and his mother who was defending him! I couldn’t believe how I went from zero to 100 in the rage factor. That’s where I still struggle. Neither of the girls have married yet. Heaven help the man that marries them if he doesn’t treat them like gold. I honestly think I need to go on and be with Jesus before that ever happens. I’ve barely survived their dating “break ups.” Looks like I, too, have some growing to do. Sigh!

       
  13. debbie

    November 19, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    It is so sad that the people who could have stopped this predator were more worried about their own consequences and not what those children were going through. Selfishness abounds.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 19, 2011 at 4:03 pm

      So it does, Debbie. I don’t think we’ve heard the end of it yet, either. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

       
  14. An Observant Mind

    November 21, 2011 at 7:30 am

    I read a comment today, ‘Holding onto anger is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die.” Not nearly as eloquent as your beautifully inspired and incredibly gracious words, but thought-provoking nonetheless.

    I have to say the trivial injustices that I need to forgive are of such little consequence it seems shameful to even admit them…. people who have told lies about me, promised me things and not delivered, stolen or cheated me.

    To read your story and to take a lesson on forgiveness for grievous crimes of such enormity against someone so innocent is humbling. It is a lesson I will take with me today, and one I won’t shirk the responsibility of. Thank you xx

     
    • etomczyk

      November 21, 2011 at 6:07 pm

      Karyn: It’s always so nice to have you drop by and your comments always give me a lift. I almost used that quote about drinking poison because it is so true. Like you I have had to forgive and let go of people who lie about me, or cheated and stolen from me an it has not been easy. Forgiveness never is. I find myself revisiting my anger and getting sick to my stomach as if I had swallowed poison. It takes time but I am convinced it is the only way to live. All the best, my friend! ET

       
  15. Main Street Musings Blog

    November 21, 2011 at 10:48 am

    You had me at “Bitch-zap.” Funny and thought-provoking post.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 21, 2011 at 6:14 pm

      Thanks Lisa for dropping by and leaving such a nice comment. I’ve read your Main Street Musings a couple of times and have enjoyed them. Pleae drop by again. I post every Thursday night and write on all sorts of subjects. Cheers!

       
  16. lifeintheboomerlane

    November 21, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    Great post. Every single day we make choices that result in women and children being abused. Then something, one thing, one event, smacks us in the face and we are shocked and stunned. We ask how this can happen. It happens because we choose to look the other way. Because to pay attention would be inconvenient.

     
  17. yearstricken

    November 22, 2011 at 6:55 am

    If our hearts aren’t broken for these children, we’ve got serious problems. Thank you for sharing your story.

     
    • etomczyk

      November 22, 2011 at 4:46 pm

      Hi Yearstricken. Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment. I appreciate your thoughtfulness. I’ve read a couple of your stories (especially like the one about your mom and dad in the desert). Very sweet. All the best.

       
  18. Doc

    November 22, 2011 at 4:42 pm

    The sad truth is that listening to the victims of pedophilia would probably have little impact upon Sandusky. The others might have a twinge of remorse or regret that they didn’t speak up. But they would probably rationalize their actions somehow. Another very thought-provoking post. Thank you!

     
    • etomczyk

      November 22, 2011 at 5:02 pm

      Yeah, I think you’re right, Doc, but hope springs eternal. After listening to the interview with Sandusky, he wouldn’t be moved. I was thinking more of the Paternos and administrators who chose prestige, job security, reputation, and money over those children by not going to the police. What a horrific thing. Thanks for stopping by.

       
  19. Lindy Lee

    November 24, 2011 at 9:28 am

    Hear, here!! on Penn State and concurrence with all the rest above…

     
    • etomczyk

      November 24, 2011 at 3:53 pm

      Lindy Lee: Thank you for your wonderful comment. Your prose is as lovely as your poetry and your compliments are extremely meaningful, coming from you. I’ve been by your site and read your poetry a few times. I was too intimidated to say anything because poetry is so out of my league and I would seem like an poseur if I commented. I’m touched that you read many of the stories, because they are just that: stories, not blog posts. I am honored. Happy T-Day!

       
      • Lindy Lee

        November 26, 2011 at 6:59 pm

        Thank you for your kind, kind words. I am a Poetic Licensee, which is my disclaimer for any real expertise or ability as an actual poet. I ride the word waves with my gorgeous 5’7″, 110 lb. muse, who looks like Marilyn Monroe. She’s very moody and sometimes transforms herself into Billy D. Williams at age 40 (and I’m age 36). She doesn’t always manifest herself/himself but once in a while one of her personifications assists me in rhyme, meter and making some sense…

         
      • etomczyk

        November 27, 2011 at 6:55 am

        Hi Lindy. Thanks for stopping by again. Have a fabulous day!

         
  20. barkinginthedark

    December 10, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    from where i sit you still got a lotta zappin’ to do woman. continue…

     
    • etomczyk

      December 11, 2011 at 9:22 am

      Hi Tony: Such a treat that you stopped by my blog, checked it out twice, and left me such lovely comments. I’ve been reading up on your impressive life as a musician. Curious to know: what brings you to this neck of the woods? I love your sharp, intelligent, political commentary, especially. continue… 🙂

       
  21. elroyjones

    December 14, 2011 at 9:00 am

    Love, love, LOVE this-let me try to get this right- LOVE THIS POST!!!

    Smart, funny and pretty- you’ve got it goin’ on!

     
    • etomczyk

      December 14, 2011 at 9:46 pm

      Hi Elroy: Thanks so much for stopping by and your wonderful, wonderful comment. I am deeply touched. Come on back, anytime. All the best.

       
  22. Dienna

    February 5, 2012 at 5:03 pm

    “That “Boss-man” told me I should make a note that when he walks into a room he is normally the smartest person there on any given day; therefore, nothing I had to say could possibly trump what he had already declared.”

    People like this boss with that kind of ego are some truly sad individuals.

     
    • etomczyk

      February 5, 2012 at 5:41 pm

      Dienna: Ain’t it the truth! Nothing you can do about it except prove them wrong, which I did. He was summarily fired after falling into disgrace (I testified against him), and I was promoted 4 levels above that original status. Boo-yah!

      I was reading a catalogue of quotes today about past leaders (senators, presidents, generals, corporate heads) who had severe prejudices against Blacks, Jews, and Native Americans, and they were in a position of power to act upon those prejudices with great force. Had they triumphed, you and I and a whole host of people would be living in a different world, and Barack Obama would be a janitor. Righteousness will always win–eventually. Boo-yah!

       
      • Dienna

        February 5, 2012 at 6:43 pm

        “He was summarily fired after falling into disgrace (I testified against him), and I was promoted 4 levels above my original status. Boo-yah!”

        I *love* karma. 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
