RSS

Taking a Nap. . .Be Back Next Week

01 Sep

Do you know what I’ve discoveredThis is my 10th post.  I am in a state of shock and I’m exhausted!  Not to mention going through two natural disasters — an earthquake and a hurricane — which have given me a lot of fodder for my blog.  But so many people who are much better bloggers than I have written about the devastation on the East Coast, I thought I’d skip it, reward myself with a week of sleep, an expensive massage, and start fresh next week with my 11th post:  “Old people say the darndest things.”

Monday morning quarterbacking of my specific behavior during the earthquake, however, does warrant a two-paragraph “aha” confession from me about getting a more laidback worldview:

  • When an earthquake happens in a region that hasn’t had one in 100 years, don’t assume that the swaying of the 14th floor of a glass encased building where you work is the “rapture” and assume you’ve been “left behind,” confirming what you’ve always thought about your sorry ass:  “everybody talkin’ ‘bout heaven ain’t goin’ there!”  Note to self:  next time you realize the rockin-and-rollin’ is an earthquake that has thrown you to your knees, try praying instead of screaming at the top of your lungs — “Lord, have mercy, we’re all going to die” — as you flee down the crowded stairs.
  • (Do try and maintain a modicum of “coolness” for God’s sake.)

Until next week. . . .

Cheers!  ET

All text and photos by Eleanor and John Tomczyk © 2011

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Eleanor Tomczyk and “How the Hell Did I End Up Here?” with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

17 responses to “Taking a Nap. . .Be Back Next Week

  1. Shonnie

    September 2, 2011 at 1:47 am

    Glad to know you made it through alive and well.

     
  2. Stephanie in SA

    September 2, 2011 at 6:17 am

    I was thinking of you all when I heard about the earthquake

     
    • etomczyk

      September 2, 2011 at 10:21 am

      Can you believe it? DC? Good grief. You got out of town just in time. Hope all is well.

       
  3. FatGirlUSA

    September 2, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    Hi and welcome to the Blogosphere. I read your post on Shonnie’s blog and decided to check out yours. I’m loving the title of your blog and congrats on you 10th post along with the decision to make healthy life changes. We are all here to support each other through this journey and may you find a easy path on yours. Bridgette a.k.a. FatGirlUSA

     
    • etomczyk

      September 2, 2011 at 9:33 pm

      Bridgette, thanks for stopping by. I read your blog and I’m really excited for you. You’ve already done a really hard part, and that is you committed yourself to “going for it” with your public blog and testimony. I wish you all the best. Cheers!

       
  4. imagesbytdashfield

    September 5, 2011 at 9:31 pm

    Hi! I had a relative who had her house rattled by the earthquake (and stuff thrown and broken off shelves) and then Irene pushed a neighbors tree into her bedroom. She is a nervous wreck! Looking forward to more of your posts.

    T

     
    • etomczyk

      September 5, 2011 at 10:04 pm

      Thank so much for leaving a comment. Please drop by again and sample some of my stories, especially when you need a laugh. Let’s just say “Bridget Jones” can live in anyone, at any age, and any race. All the best!

       
  5. georgefloreswrite

    September 8, 2011 at 2:52 am

    I’m in love with your blog! I’m still chuckling at what you said about the Rapture and how it confirms what I always thought about my sorry ass 🙂

     
    • etomczyk

      September 8, 2011 at 2:12 pm

      Thanks so much, George. It was fun reading your blog as well. It has an other-worldly Walter Mosley feel to it. I post every Thursday night by midnight. Please drop by and see me again.

       
      • georgefloreswrite

        September 9, 2011 at 3:35 am

        Thanks for stopping by. Ooh Walter Mosley, now if I could just write as well as he does I’d be set. I’ve only gotten down to July 29 on yours and plan on reading more tomorrow. You are a fantastic woman and your blog is helping me deal mentally with some grizzlies of my own. 😉

         
      • etomczyk

        September 9, 2011 at 3:53 am

        Wow! Thank you so much. I am really touched by your response. That makes it all worthwhile.

         
  6. Shonnie

    September 8, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    Ok … it is next week and I am missing you already. 😀

     
    • etomczyk

      September 8, 2011 at 4:36 pm

      Tonight — no later than midnight (I hope). I have a day job which is all consuming! I’m a writer by late night and early morning. No wonder I have stress and need yoga, meditation, and massages :>). Been keeping up on your blog and it is inspiring me to get my chubby act together. Take care.

       
  7. Mal

    October 18, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    Hi! Lovely read….and I just love your writing style. Have been visiting (and reading) your other blogs. Refreshingly funny.. Subscribed to your bog! 🙂

     
    • etomczyk

      October 18, 2011 at 9:44 pm

      Hi Mal. Thanks so much for stopping by and reading some of my blog. That was so kind of you. I’ve dropped by your blog a couple of times and really enjoyed what I’ve read. It was the design that drew me to your site the first time. Please don’t hesitate to return and I’ll be hopping over your way, as well. Cheers!

       
  8. Brian Watt

    November 7, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    Eleanor – my wife suggested I check out your Blog. I have…excellent writing! Definitely enjoyed the piece on Disney…motto “We’ll cram fun done your throat till you puke.”

    Now, if you’d do a piece on Wal Mart….

    Brian Watt – Kalamazoo MI

     
    • etomczyk

      November 7, 2011 at 6:27 pm

      Hi Brian. Are you the beau of Tina? 🙂 Welcome, and thanks so much for subscribing to my blog and leaving such a lovely comment. I love your wife’s writiing. I hope she keeps at it. She is a poet. Does she know it?

       

Leave a Reply

 
